Throne of Glass Series Review

Throne of Glass Series Review


Meet Celaena Sardothien.

Beautiful. Deadly. Destined for greatness.

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, Celaena, an assassin, is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass—and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

Cited from:

As I am writing this, I just want ya’ll to know that I am basing this review without having read the final book- because it hasn’t arrived in my mailbox yet. Waiting those two days for Amazon Prime things to get here can sometimes be brutal.

It’s been a long time since I was able to sit and read an entire series (Or most of it)- it helped tremendously that this series was awesome. I haven’t been this excited about the characters in a book since I visited Hogwarts many moons ago.

I’m going to start with the bad- just to get it over with:

The first book is kind of slow, but I expected as much because most books in a series are. It obviously kept me reading so it wasn’t too terrible, but was my least favorite out of the series. You learn a lot of the key players in the story, and you build backstories of each of them. By the end of the book, I was hooked though. I knew Celaena Sardothien was going to be something way more than an assassin, Dorian was more than a Prince, and Chaol was more than your typical Captain of the Guard.

Now- The Great:

These books were amazing. By the time I was done with Book Two, Crown of Midnight, I was in love with many of the characters. You suffer a huge loss, and I might have even shed a tear. When a book is able to make you feel actual emotions, you know you have found a winner.

Book Three, Heir of Fire, Introduced probably the second most important character in my opinion. One of my favorites if I am being completely honest. Heir of Fire was actually my most favorite of the books so far, as Celaena grew as a character immensely.

Book Four, Queen of Shadows, added a plot twist that I wasn’t even remotely prepared for. If I am being honest I shook the book a few times because I was frustrated at some of the things that were happening in the story.

I am patiently awaiting Empire of Storms- the epic conclusion to this wonderful series. I will be both happy and sad when it is over.

These books are perfectly balanced between action, mystery, suspense and romance. If you enjoy fantasy novels, you need to get your hands on these. The Throne of Glass series will not let you down!

You can buy the first of the series on Amazon! It’s even under ten dollars, so it won’t break the bank.

Like what I have to say? Leave a comment!

%d bloggers like this: